Yu-Gi-Oh! » Rulings Q&A

Did you Know....... #1???
Monarch Snow
#1
Here's something funny, did you know that targeting isn't a cost. Yes, you read that right, targeting is NOT a cost and a source for that would be right here.

Source:
[url:22aqtv8g]http://www.yugioh-card.com/uk/gameplay/detail.php?id=766[/url:22aqtv8g]

If targeting is NOT a cost, then why is it behind the semi-colon. Isn't everything in PSCT written behind the colon? Targeting is an action done AT THE TIME OF COST, but itself it isn't an action of cost. As stated in the article from Konami.

"Anything that happens WHEN YOU ACTIVATE a card will be written in red and called ‘red text’. This includes things like costs and targeting."



Sample Text: When this card is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard: You can target 2 Level 2 monsters in your Graveyard; Special Summon them, but their effects are negated.
As directly cited, costs and targeting are two separate things. However, they are both written behind the semi-colon. :geek:
MadRest
#2
Us ruling experts knew this all along. It was obvious from the fact that Diamond Dude's effect retains targeting but skips the cost.
Soracchi
#3
aww look at everyone from old DN hanging out on here.
I still remember the day people thought it was broken you could use Lightning vortex through diamond dude not paying a cost and they said it was "too broken like dark hole." Oh how times have changed.
Post Reply: