dolphincup | #1 | Mon Aug 26, 2024 3:50 PM | Delete | Hi all, I have a few questions about the mysterious Tribute Set.
I've seen rulings on Precious Cards From Beyond ("When you Tribute Summon a monster using 2 or more Tributes: Draw 2 cards.") that indicate it applies to Tribute Sets as well. In that case, would Hardened Arm Dragon also apply to tribute sets?
Next question is about timing. Gear Town misses timing if you play a field spell over it, but does not miss timing if you set a field spell over it. Poison Draw Frog misses timing if you tribute it for a summon, but does it also miss timing if you tribute it for a set?
Thank you. |
|
Cromat | #2 | Tue Aug 27, 2024 1:30 PM | Delete | You are asking (this/these);①Q: I Set of "Hardened Armed Dragon" to my side of the field. Then, I activated "Double Summon" from my hand and Normal Summoned "Black Luster Soldier", that Normal Summoned monster will be affected by effect of "Hardened Armed Dragon" from being destroyed by card effects?A: Yes, even if you Tributed a Set "Hardened Armed Dragon" to Tribute Summon of "Black Luster Soldier"; that Normal Summoned monster will not be destroyed by card effects.②Q: I Set of "Hardened Armed Dragon" to my side of the field. Then, I activated "Double Summon" from my hand and Set a monster (which is a "Black Luster Soldier") from my hand by Tributing my Set ("Hardened Armed Dragon") card, that face-down ("Black Luster Soldier") monster will be affected by effect of "Hardened Armed Dragon" from being destroyed by card effects?A: No. If your opponent activates "Raigeki" and/or "Dark Hole", your face-down monster (which is placed to field as Tribute Set) will be destroyed. ③A: If you activate a "Mystic Box" by targeting 1 monster of your opponent (which is a Set "Poison Draw Frog") and 1 monster of your control (which is a face-up Defense Position "Poison Draw Frog"); your opponent cannot draw 1 card.A: If you Tributed a Set "Poison Draw Frog" to Tribute Summon of "The Tricky", you cannot draw by effect of "Poison Draw Frog". But if you Tribute a face-up "Poison Draw Frog" to Tribute Summon of "The Tricky", you can draw 1 card with effect of "Poison Draw Frog".A: If you Tributed 2 monsters to activate of "Tyrant's Tirade" by Tributing a face-down "Poison Draw Frog" and a face-up "Poison Draw Frog", you can draw only 1 card. |
|
dolphincup | #3 | Wed Aug 28, 2024 12:36 PM | Delete | Thanks for the reply!
That answers my question about hardened arm dragon, but unfortunately, didn't answer my question about poison draw frog.
The question is about whether Poison Draw Frog's effect misses timing if it, face-up, is tributed to Set a level 5 or higher monster. |
|
Christen57 | #4 | Wed Aug 28, 2024 12:43 PM | Delete | Frog can miss timing since it's an optional when effect. |
|
Cromat | #5 | Wed Aug 28, 2024 8:13 PM | Delete | ④A: I activated "Geartown" to my Field Spell Zone and my opponent activated their "Mystical Space Typhoon". (Treated these as Chain Link as your opponent chained their Quick-Play Spell to your activated Field Spell.)Chain Link 1 is being of activation of that Field Spell onto the field, and their Quick-Play Spell is targeting that Field Spell as Chain Link 2.While resolving the Chain (it would be backwards as);Quick-Play Spell will destroy that Field Spell as Chain Link 2, and Field Spell will resolve (on the field as Chain Link 1) without effect (since it destroyed by that Quick-Play Spell).You will not be able to Special Summon 1 "Ancient Gear" monster from your hand, Deck, or GY because of trying to resolve its (the Field Spell's) effect is the last thing to happened, not of its destruction. That Quick-Play Spell is destroying that Field Spell as Chain Link 2.Also regarding that mentioned Field Spell's ruling; "The effect of "Geartown" cannot be activated if it is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by a card effect activated as Chain Link 2 or higher."■ Related Ruling's screenshot: ① ■ Related Ruling's screenshot: ② ⑤Q: If the opponent activates a Field Spell Card while you control a "Geartown" in your Field Zone, can you activate the effect of "Geartown" that Special Summons 1 "Ancient Gear" monster?Also, if you activate or Set a Field Spell Card while you control a "Geartown" in your Field Zone, can you activate the effect of "Geartown" that Special Summons 1 "Ancient Gear" monster?A: Each player can activate a face-up Field Spell Card in their Field Zone. Therefore, even if the opponent activates a new Field Spell Card while you control "Geartown", your "Geartown" is not destroyed and its effect that Special Summons 1 "Ancient Gear" monster cannot be activated. Also, if you activate or Set a new Field Spell Card while you control "Geartown", this is performed after sending "Geartown" to the Graveyard. Even in this case, since "Geartown" is not destroyed, its effect that Special Summons 1 "Ancient Gear" monster cannot be activated. ⑥A: I activated "Geartown" to my Field Spell Zone and my opponent activated their "Magic Jammer".Chain Link 1 is, activation of that Field Spell onto the field; Chain Link 2 is being the activation of that Counter Trap.While resolving the Chain (it would be backwards as);(When we start to resolve of Chain Link 2:) That Counter Trap negates the activation of that Field Spell Card, and destroys it. (And Chain Link 1 is vanishes.) Destruction of that Field Spell is in fact one of the last things of happen, therefore its Trigger-Like Effect can be activate in the GY (as normal).⑦Q: While I control a face-up Attack Position "Eldlich the Golden Lord", meanwhile my opponent is controlling a face-up "Geartown" at their Field Spell Zone. When I activated my Set "Conquistador of the Golden Land" from my Spell & Trap Zone and start to resolves things; my opponent is activating their Set "Torrential Tribute" after my Trap Monster reached to field. Your comment on the incident?A: "Torrential Tribute" is missed its activation timing, since the last happened things is not Special Summon of that Trap Monster. Last happened thing would be that Trap Monster's effect that will destroy 1 face-up card on the field (such as that Field Spell) (since controlling of that Effect Monster).⑧Q: If I Tributed of "Poison Draw Frog" for Tribute Summon of "The Tricky". Can I draw 1 card with that Effect Monster's Trigger Effect which is activated from GY?A: No, because the last happened thing is being Tribute Summon of "The Tricky". So "Poison Draw Frog" will miss the timing.⑨Q: If I Tributed of "Poison Draw Frog" for Tribute Set of "Santa Claws". Can I draw 1 card with that Effect Monster's Trigger Effect which is activated from GY?A: No, because the last happened thing is being Tribute Set of "Santa Claws". So "Poison Draw Frog" will miss the timing.Therefore, we can say these answers are incorrect; The last thing happened is being the resolution of "Tyrant's Tirade" at that scenario, which means you cannot draw any cards. |
|
Cromat | #6 | Wed Aug 28, 2024 8:49 PM | Delete | This answer here is correct. Since the last event that happened was you changing control of your own monster, your opponent's "Poison Draw Frog" will miss time again. |
|