rastaninja | #1 | Sat Mar 1, 2025 10:47 AM | Delete | We've had a weird situation that I can't find any resources on. A player had 7 cards in hand, proceeded to the end phase and both players passed. At this point a Sylvan Hermitree was discarded and a Sylvan Sagequoia was activated from hand due to the discard. Given other optional trigger effects (like Lightserpent) can be used, it made sense to us to allow this. However, I've since tried it in 2 automatic sims, where it does not give me a prompt to use Sagequoia's effect. Now these are just sims so it could be a bug where they only check if the discarded card had any triggers met or it's actually how the game works. So ... can you use trigger effects from other cards like that when discarding for turn? |
|
greg503 | #2 | Sun Mar 2, 2025 3:33 PM | Delete | [quote="rastaninja":2uazqnvr]We've had a weird situation that I can't find any resources on. A player had 7 cards in hand, proceeded to the end phase and both players passed. At this point a Sylvan Hermitree was discarded and a Sylvan Sagequoia was activated from hand due to the discard. Given other optional trigger effects (like Lightserpent) can be used, it made sense to us to allow this. However, I've since tried it in 2 automatic sims, where it does not give me a prompt to use Sagequoia's effect. Now these are just sims so it could be a bug where they only check if the discarded card had any triggers met or it's actually how the game works. So ... can you use trigger effects from other cards like that when discarding for turn?[/quote:2uazqnvr] It's somehow going to be another if/when effect difference. Anyways, it doesn't work in Master Duel which means Sagequoia doesn't trigger like that. |
|
Ir0n | #3 | Wed Mar 19, 2025 4:05 PM | Delete | Automatic Simulators aren't a reliable source for rulings, least of all Master Duel, that game is so full of ruling errors, it's ridiculous. Though there could also something else be at play, why they didn't give you an opportunity to activate Sylvan Sagequoia in those cases, like your toggle being off by accident, a card effect preventing you from Special Summoning or the card you sent was not a "Sylvan" monster, but a "Sylvan" spell? Anyways, I am rarely active on DB, but I am a judge irl and I would rule in your favor in this case, so Sylvan Sagequoia can activate in the hand, because discarding for hand size doesn't cause an effect to miss timing (as far as I'm aware) and the trigger condition has been met correctly. |
|