"El Shaddoll Construct" has a ruling that the card's effect "At the start of the Damage Step, if this card battles a Special Summoned monster: Destroy that monster." doesn't target and is mandatory.
https://yugioh.fandom.com/wiki/Card_Rul ... _Construct
"Gravity Controller" has an effect that states : "At the start of the Damage Step, if this card battles an opponent's monster in the Extra Monster Zone: You can return both that opponent's monster and this card to the Deck."
If Player: A controls "El Shaddoll Construct" and Player: B controls "Gravity Controller" and on Player: B's turn decides to attack El Shaddol Construct with "Gravity Controller" is "El Shaddoll Construct" still mandatory chain link 1?