Yu-Gi-Oh! » Rulings Q&A

Ancient Forest vs Book of Moon (Edison Format)
Lonzo Ball
#1
This question is regarding Edison Format.

Player A declares a direct attack with "Gladiator Beast Bestiari" while "Ancient Forest" is face-up on the field. While still in the Battle Step, Player B activates "Book of Moon," flipping Bestiari face-down. At the End of the Battle Phase, will Ancient Forest's effect activate and destroy Bestiari?

The Ancient Prophecy rulings document from 2009 says this:
"If a monster attacks and is flipped face-down by 'Book of Moon' it will still be destroyed."

This ruling is ambiguous and does not specify if Book of Moon was used before damage calculation was performed or if it was used at a later point in the battle phase.

Current advanced format rulings state that the monster will only be destroyed if damage calculation was performed, so in the scenario I gave above, Bestiari would not be destroyed. Some people have argued that the the above ruling from 2009 implies Bestiari would still be destroyed. How will this situation be ruled for Dueling Book rated matches?
Lonzo Ball
#2
Anyone? I guess I can just call a judge if it ever comes up in a match
Cromat
#3
Don't ask "Corrupt Judge Exam" questions at DB Forum.
Lonzo Ball
#4
[quote="Cromat":3scvqnq4]Don't ask "Corrupt Judge Exam" questions at DB Forum.[/quote:3scvqnq4]

What are you talking about?
Cromat
#5
What am I talking about?
We Could Be
#6
[quote="Lonzo Ball":3ucapj3e]This question is regarding Edison Format.

The Ancient Prophecy rulings document from 2009 says this:
"If a monster attacks and is flipped face-down by 'Book of Moon' it will still be destroyed."

This ruling is ambiguous and does not specify if Book of Moon was used before damage calculation was performed or if it was used at a later point in the battle phase.
[/quote:3ucapj3e]

My reading on this would be that "attacked" means "the attack has to have happened" meaning damage calculation would have been performed. this would mean that book of moon would have been used in the ruling example after the attack was successful.
StupidRetard
#7
[quote="We Could Be":18ooy89c][quote="Lonzo Ball":18ooy89c]This question is regarding Edison Format.

The Ancient Prophecy rulings document from 2009 says this:
"If a monster attacks and is flipped face-down by 'Book of Moon' it will still be destroyed."

This ruling is ambiguous and does not specify if Book of Moon was used before damage calculation was performed or if it was used at a later point in the battle phase.
[/quote:18ooy89c]

My reading on this would be that "attacked" means "the attack has to have happened" meaning damage calculation would have been performed. this would mean that book of moon would have been used in the ruling example after the attack was successful.[/quote:18ooy89c]

I disagree I believe only an attack declaration needs to occur; if they wanted to specify post damage calculation, they would have used the word 'battled' instead of 'attacked'.
Lonzo Ball
#8
[quote="StupidRetard":2bevumat][quote="We Could Be":2bevumat][quote="Lonzo Ball":2bevumat]This question is regarding Edison Format.

The Ancient Prophecy rulings document from 2009 says this:
"If a monster attacks and is flipped face-down by 'Book of Moon' it will still be destroyed."

This ruling is ambiguous and does not specify if Book of Moon was used before damage calculation was performed or if it was used at a later point in the battle phase.
[/quote:2bevumat]

My reading on this would be that "attacked" means "the attack has to have happened" meaning damage calculation would have been performed. this would mean that book of moon would have been used in the ruling example after the attack was successful.[/quote:2bevumat]

I disagree I believe only an attack declaration needs to occur; if they wanted to specify post damage calculation, they would have used the word 'battled' instead of 'attacked'.[/quote:2bevumat]

Gladiator Beast Bestiari also says "attacked," and it must perform damage calculation for the player to activate its effect. I'm glad you wanted to help, but I asked this question for a DB judge to answer.
Ir0n
#9
[quote="Lonzo Ball":3tit9owl][quote="StupidRetard":3tit9owl][quote="We Could Be":3tit9owl]

My reading on this would be that "attacked" means "the attack has to have happened" meaning damage calculation would have been performed. this would mean that book of moon would have been used in the ruling example after the attack was successful.[/quote:3tit9owl]

I disagree I believe only an attack declaration needs to occur; if they wanted to specify post damage calculation, they would have used the word 'battled' instead of 'attacked'.[/quote:3tit9owl]

Gladiator Beast Bestiari also says "attacked," and it must perform damage calculation for the player to activate its effect. I'm glad you wanted to help, but I asked this question for a DB judge to answer.[/quote:3tit9owl]

I'm not a judge on DB, but irl. As you correctly noticed, Bestiari's wording is your cue. In order for the monster to have "attacked", damage calculation must have been performed. If the monster is booked on attack declaration, the attack is effectively negated. A negated attack, like a negated activation is considered to not have taken place. Hope this helps, but I understand if you'd still rather want to hear it from a DB judge.
Kitty Trouble
#10
https://edisonformat.net/card?name=Ancient%20Forest

● If a monster's attack is stopped (e.g. by "Book of Moon", "Enemy Controller", "Battle Fader" or "Cyber Valley"), it will be destroyed by this effect (even if it is face-down).
Ir0n
#11
[quote="Ir0n":116la52u][quote="Lonzo Ball":116la52u][quote="StupidRetard":116la52u]

I disagree I believe only an attack declaration needs to occur; if they wanted to specify post damage calculation, they would have used the word 'battled' instead of 'attacked'.[/quote:116la52u]

Gladiator Beast Bestiari also says "attacked," and it must perform damage calculation for the player to activate its effect. I'm glad you wanted to help, but I asked this question for a DB judge to answer.[/quote:116la52u]

I'm not a judge on DB, but irl. As you correctly noticed, Bestiari's wording is your cue. In order for the monster to have "attacked", damage calculation must have been performed. If the monster is booked on attack declaration, the attack is effectively negated. A negated attack, like a negated activation is considered to not have taken place. Hope this helps, but I understand if you'd still rather want to hear it from a DB judge.[/quote:116la52u]

Embarrassing :oops: . I didn't read Ancient Forest before commenting this. Ancient Forest specifies that an attack only has to be declared, not for the monster to "have attacked". With this wording, as Kitty Trouble pointed out, booking the attacking monster will NOT save it from destruction by Ancient Forest's effect at the end of the Battle Phase.
Post Reply: