Genexwrecker wrote: Christen57 wrote:
Genexwrecker wrote:this is incorrect information please disregard Reji's post as not everything directly before the ; does not equate to costs. Targeting for example is not a cost but is performed upon activation which is the true meaning of the semi colon.
Actually, Renji Asuka's probably right here. This article explains exactly what costs are. https://yugipedia.com/wiki/CostA cost (Japanese: コスト Kosuto) is an action that must be performed in order to activate a card or effect, to perform another action, or to keep a card on the field.
Targeting is an action that must be performed to activate, or at least when activating, Mystical Space Typhoon
for example. Therefore, targeting with Mystical Space Typhoon is considered a "cost" as far as game mechanics are concerned.
again targeting is never a cost and never will be a cost. This is extremely important to understand as it does affect the validity of quite a few cards and different mechanics are affected by targeting not being a cost as well. Please do not continue to go around telling people targeting is treated as a cost it is vastly different. This is not a debate please drop the subject.
I think I know what you mean. Unlike costs listed before semi-colons which can never be skipped, there are some situations where targeting can be skipped, like in the case of mandatory effects. For example, Galaxy Knight
says it'll activate it's on-summon effect by targeting then special summoning a specific monster in the graveyard, but will still activate and resolve that effect to lose 1000 ATK even if no such target exists, in which case it'll skip the targeting part and go straight to the ATK-reducing part.
This should mean that, if I tribute summon Granmarg the Mega Monarch
using EARTH tributes, even if no Set cards exist on the field, it should still apply the "Also, draw 1 card after that
" part, since, according to problem-solving card text rules, "Do A, also do B
" means A
isn't required for B
to happen. Right?
However, an actual cost, such as paying life points to activate something, wouldn't be skippable. If my face-up Moon Mirror Shield
gets sent to my graveyard and I have less than 500 life points, I don't get to skip paying 500 life points while still putting the card back to the top/bottom of the deck.
Also, not all forms of targeting target at specifically an activation of something. There is a spell card called Future Fusion
which targets after
it has resolved instead of upon activation, while Equip Spells, for example, "constantly
" target the monsters they're equipped to.
So I guess what I should say is that targeting is considered part of the cost, or at least something that's required alongside the cost, if said targeting is required to activate the card/effect in question and if that card/effect is optional and not mandatory.