Yu-Gi-Oh! ยป Rulings Q&A

Shooting Majestic Star Dragon Banishing vs Discard Cost
iSlipped
#1
If i were to use Shooting Majestic Star Dragon on a card that discards itself as a cost (Zeradias, Junk Converter, etc.), does that card (Zeradias, Junk Converter, etc.) still get banished? I was told that since the card in question is now in the graveyard (and it activated in the hand), it is treated as a "new card" and so it doesn't get banished.
Shooting Majestic Star Dragon reads: "Once per turn, when your opponent activates a card or effect (Quick Effect): You can banish this card (until the End Phase), and if you do, negate the activation, and if you do that, banish that card."

Thanks!
greg503
#2
It will still be in the GY, this is the same ruling with another similar card: Invoked Mechaba.
Jon-Stark
#3
Your card tries to banish the copy that activated its effect (the one in hand) , but the card is now in a new location (GY) and is considered a DIFFERENT copy from that one that activated. So it does NOT get banished.
Post Reply: