Goat Format Nightmare Wheel

If you have a ruling question related to the game, search for it here, or ask it if no one else has yet.
eyal282
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 6:02 pm
Reputation: 1
Location: Dustshoot Phase

Goat Format Nightmare Wheel

Post #1 by eyal282 » Thu Oct 05, 2023 2:52 pm

Activate this card by targeting 1 monster your opponent controls; it cannot attack or change its battle position. When it leaves the field, destroy this card. Once per turn, during your Standby Phase: Inflict 500 damage to your opponent. That monster must be on the field to activate and to resolve this effect.

I want to know if inflicting damage works in this case, relative to how the card recognizes if the monster is on the field:

1. When I Chain Link 2 Book of Moon targetting the monster.

2. When after it resolves, I activate Book of Moon targetting the monster.

My opinion is that even if it targets any monster, the target is now lost. I'm not 100% sure on hindsight how target being lost works with cards that don't target face-up monsters. Let me know.

Note: No matter what, opponent cannot chain it in standby to deal the 500, because it must be on field to activate AND resolve.

eyal282
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 6:02 pm
Reputation: 1
Location: Dustshoot Phase

Post #2 by eyal282 » Thu Oct 05, 2023 2:56 pm

https://www.duelingbook.com/goat-format

Nightmare Wheel is not on the list of erratas if it has any.

King_Kai
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 2:44 pm
Reputation: 8

Post #3 by King_Kai » Thu Oct 05, 2023 4:02 pm

nightmare wheel targets "1 monster", even lf the target ls flipped facedown, it ls still "1 monster" , so lt will apply lts effect normally

Ir0n
User avatar
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 8:19 am
Reputation: 4
Location: Bavaria
Mood:

Post #4 by Ir0n » Fri Oct 06, 2023 10:56 am

I agree with King_Kai. Since the effect doesn't specify "face-up", Nightmare Wheel should still apply as normal here.

Kitty Trouble
Posts: 3126
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 7:00 am
Reputation: 15

Post #5 by Kitty Trouble » Tue Oct 10, 2023 10:09 pm

https://www.goatformat.com/rulings5.html

"Nightmare Wheel" is NOT destroyed if the monster is flipped face-down. "Nightmare Wheel" continues to target the monster, inflict damage, and prevent the monster from attacking or changing battle position.

M112x
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:30 am
Reputation: 3

Post #6 by M112x » Tue Nov 28, 2023 1:37 pm

i add a question about this card.
what happen if afther cl1 (flip Nightmare wheel), is played Compulsory at cl2 on that monster?

greg503
User avatar
Posts: 2329
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 3:43 pm
Reputation: 199
Location: Flundereeze

Post #7 by greg503 » Tue Nov 28, 2023 3:38 pm

M112x wrote:i add a question about this card.
what happen if afther cl1 (flip Nightmare wheel), is played Compulsory at cl2 on that monster?

I think Nightmare Wheel stays because its self-destruction effect requires the target to be successfully affected, but it does nothing because it isn't "attached" to a target.
Buy Floowandereeze

M112x
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:30 am
Reputation: 3

Post #8 by M112x » Wed Nov 29, 2023 9:03 am

greg503 wrote:
M112x wrote:i add a question about this card.
what happen if afther cl1 (flip Nightmare wheel), is played Compulsory at cl2 on that monster?

I think Nightmare Wheel stays because its self-destruction effect requires the target to be successfully affected, but it does nothing because it isn't "attached" to a target.



i doubt about the fact the monster is or not attached change something

Kitty Trouble
Posts: 3126
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 7:00 am
Reputation: 15

Post #9 by Kitty Trouble » Wed Dec 06, 2023 5:34 pm

There is this ruling which I would say you can apply to no monster being targeted by wheel even though it stays:

The effect of "Nightmare Wheel" will be negated by "Royal Decree", so you can attack or change the battle position of the monster. Also, if "Royal Decree" is active, and the monster is removed from the field, "Nightmare Wheel" remains on the field meaninglessly because its text that would destroy it is negated. If "Royal Decree" is later destroyed, the effects of "Nightmare Wheel" are not applied (such as the 500 damage) if there is no monster being targeted by "Nightmare Wheel".


Return to “Rulings Q&A”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests