eyal282 | #1 | Thu Oct 5, 2023 8:52 AM | Delete | Activate this card by targeting 1 monster your opponent controls; it cannot attack or change its battle position. When it leaves the field, destroy this card. Once per turn, during your Standby Phase: Inflict 500 damage to your opponent. That monster must be on the field to activate and to resolve this effect.
I want to know if inflicting damage works in this case, relative to how the card recognizes if the monster is on the field:
1. When I Chain Link 2 Book of Moon targetting the monster.
2. When after it resolves, I activate Book of Moon targetting the monster.
My opinion is that even if it targets any monster, the target is now lost. I'm not 100% sure on hindsight how target being lost works with cards that don't target face-up monsters. Let me know.
Note: No matter what, opponent cannot chain it in standby to deal the 500, because it must be on field to activate AND resolve. |
|
eyal282 | #2 | Thu Oct 5, 2023 8:56 AM | Delete | https://www.duelingbook.com/goat-formatNightmare Wheel is not on the list of erratas if it has any. |
|
King_Kai | #3 | Thu Oct 5, 2023 10:02 AM | Delete | nightmare wheel targets "1 monster", even lf the target ls flipped facedown, it ls still "1 monster" , so lt will apply lts effect normally |
|
Ir0n | #4 | Fri Oct 6, 2023 4:56 AM | Delete | I agree with King_Kai. Since the effect doesn't specify "face-up", Nightmare Wheel should still apply as normal here. |
|
Kitty Trouble | #5 | Tue Oct 10, 2023 4:09 PM | Delete | https://www.goatformat.com/rulings5.html"Nightmare Wheel" is NOT destroyed if the monster is flipped face-down. "Nightmare Wheel" continues to target the monster, inflict damage, and prevent the monster from attacking or changing battle position. |
|
M112x | #6 | Tue Nov 28, 2023 6:37 AM | Delete | i add a question about this card. what happen if afther cl1 (flip Nightmare wheel), is played Compulsory at cl2 on that monster? |
|
greg503 | #7 | Tue Nov 28, 2023 8:38 AM | Delete | [quote="M112x":2j1btku8]i add a question about this card. what happen if afther cl1 (flip Nightmare wheel), is played Compulsory at cl2 on that monster?[/quote:2j1btku8] I think Nightmare Wheel stays because its self-destruction effect requires the target to be successfully affected, but it does nothing because it isn't "attached" to a target. |
|
M112x | #8 | Wed Nov 29, 2023 2:03 AM | Delete | [quote="greg503":3rtz8xko][quote="M112x":3rtz8xko]i add a question about this card. what happen if afther cl1 (flip Nightmare wheel), is played Compulsory at cl2 on that monster?[/quote:3rtz8xko] I think Nightmare Wheel stays because its self-destruction effect requires the target to be successfully affected, but it does nothing because it isn't "attached" to a target.[/quote:3rtz8xko]
i doubt about the fact the monster is or not attached change something |
|
Kitty Trouble | #9 | Wed Dec 6, 2023 10:34 AM | Delete | There is this ruling which I would say you can apply to no monster being targeted by wheel even though it stays:
The effect of "Nightmare Wheel" will be negated by "Royal Decree", so you can attack or change the battle position of the monster. Also, if "Royal Decree" is active, and the monster is removed from the field, "Nightmare Wheel" remains on the field meaninglessly because its text that would destroy it is negated. If "Royal Decree" is later destroyed, the effects of "Nightmare Wheel" are not applied (such as the 500 damage) if there is no monster being targeted by "Nightmare Wheel". |
|