rnprdx | #1 | Fri Apr 5, 2024 4:31 PM | Delete | just want to make sure, but when a monster summoned by rescue cat is sent to the GY, & has an effect like "when this card is sent to the GY", the effect isn't negated by rescue cat because it triggers in grave. is this correct? |
|
Ir0n | #2 | Fri Apr 5, 2024 9:50 PM | Delete | Correct. The moment a monster changes location, like from field to GY, it will essentially count as another copy of the card and any trigger effects at this point will no longer be negated by Rescue Cat. An effect that activates on the field, but resolves after the monster left the field (like Lonefire Blossom tributing itself for its own cost) however would still be negated. |
|
rnprdx | #3 | Fri Apr 5, 2024 10:11 PM | Delete | follow up question: would the timing on those GY effects miss if used for a tribute summon for, lets say, a monarch? or do the effects start a chain? |
|
greg503 | #4 | Sat Apr 6, 2024 9:19 PM | Delete | [quote="rnprdx":141p4vl6]follow up question: would the timing on those GY effects miss if used for a tribute summon for, lets say, a monarch? or do the effects start a chain?[/quote:141p4vl6] If you Tribute, Fusion, Link, etc. with a monster that says "When *this* is sent to the GY: you can..." like Dupe Frog, it misses timing because the last thing that happened was the summon, not it being sent. This is why missing the timing should be deleted from the rules. |
|
Ir0n | #5 | Sun Apr 7, 2024 10:55 PM | Delete | "When ... you can:" is what misses timing. "If" effects and mandatory effects like Sangan cannot miss their timing. |
|
Fredblade | #6 | Mon Apr 8, 2024 1:44 PM | Delete | [quote="greg503":1ehm5ov5][quote="rnprdx":1ehm5ov5]follow up question: would the timing on those GY effects miss if used for a tribute summon for, lets say, a monarch? or do the effects start a chain?[/quote:1ehm5ov5] If you Tribute, Fusion, Link, etc. with a monster that says "When *this* is sent to the GY: you can..." like Dupe Frog, it misses timing because the last thing that happened was the summon, not it being sent. This is why missing the timing should be deleted from the rules.[/quote:1ehm5ov5]
That's the whole point of the concept of missing the timing. |
|
greg503 | #7 | Mon Apr 8, 2024 4:31 PM | Delete | [quote="Fredblade":3tqfwmfu][quote="greg503":3tqfwmfu][quote="rnprdx":3tqfwmfu]follow up question: would the timing on those GY effects miss if used for a tribute summon for, lets say, a monarch? or do the effects start a chain?[/quote:3tqfwmfu] If you Tribute, Fusion, Link, etc. with a monster that says "When *this* is sent to the GY: you can..." like Dupe Frog, it misses timing because the last thing that happened was the summon, not it being sent. This is why missing the timing should be deleted from the rules.[/quote:3tqfwmfu]
That's the whole point of the concept of missing the timing.[/quote:3tqfwmfu] And it's asinine |
|